Oooooohhh my first blog post!!!

Wow, I can’t believe I have finally bitten the bullet and started writing a blog. I have wanted to do this for years but always thought I wouldn’t be able to tackle the technology and that no one would want to read it. But now, with the help of my trusty friend Pinterest and a desire to do this simply for myself, regardless of who is reading, I have penned my first words and started my journey. 

I have taken to blogging to try and help myself tackle several facets of my personality that I want to improve. I have been a member of slimming world on and off for the past 3 years and I feel like I know food optimising inside and out, yet I am not seeing the results I want. Something my SW consultant said to me recently struck a chord with me and got me thinking. She told me to be kind to myself, not to feel shame or guilt and it really hit home that these are both sticks that I beat myself with on a regular basis. I have also realised that by beating myself with those sticks that I then abuse myself by eating excessively and so the cycle continues round and round until I am no longer losing weight and eventually putting it back on. 

But, how do you just start being kind to yourself and stop feeling shame and guilt when you have been doing it like such a pro for so many years??? Well I have decided to hunt for ways and means on Pinterest and write about my success on this blog. Feel free to join me for the ride, it’s gonna be bumpy!!! I am going to start by using a 30 day challenge that I have found here http://livethewhole.com/30-day-emotional-eating-journal-challenge/ because it will give me a focus for each day’s blog post and hopefully guide me through the first 30 days of my journey of self discovery and healing. The questions to think about for day 1 are “Who am I? Who have I been? And who do I want to be?” So I shall start thinking about these questions and fill you in tomorrow…………….x

3 thoughts on “Oooooohhh my first blog post!!!

  1. Samantha says:

    Hey ya! I’m Sam and that’s my challenge you’re using 🙂 I’m so happy you’ve chosen it as a guide for this first little bit of your journey.

    Huge congrats on getting started on the blogging (Pinterested rocks, right?). You’ve taken such a brave step, you should be so proud of yourself. I think the mindset shift you’ve set out to create for yourself is just so valuable. You’re totally right – shame, guilt, and all that other “fun” stuff so doesn’t work.

    I’m super excited for you – wishing you all the warmth and self-love you can handle ❤

    Like

    • mybestme2016 says:

      Thank you for your supportive words. Today has been one of those days and I realise it’s a long road ahead of me!! I really like your resources though and look forward to using more of them. Thanks for the share on the Facebook page too. X

      Liked by 1 person

      • Samantha says:

        I don’t know if those days ever really go away – but it definitely gets easier. You are so welcome! If you ever have a question or need an extra hand, please just let me know. I’m so thrilled for you!

        Like

Leave a Reply

